About This 1743 Twickenham Plantation In Yemassee South Carolina
Twickenham was originally founded in 1732 under a Grant from England’s King George II and was assembled by Walter Izzard in 1733. It was originally a part of Tomotley Barony, which spanned over 48,000 acres. The main Plantation house was built in 1878 by Major John Screven and is a two-story home with 4 bedrooms and 3.5 baths.
It was extensively remodeled over a 3-year period, and completed in 2018. While keeping the elegance of the 18th century, the house now boasts a myriad of modern features and improvements including a chef’s kitchen with high-end appliances, expansive living rooms, plush bedrooms and bathrooms, and period appropriate furniture and furnishings throughout. A formal dining room overlooks gardens designed by Robert Marvin and Douglas Duany, landscape architects who are credited with other works like the Augusta National Golf Club, Sea Pines Resort, and the Governors Mansion grounds.
In addition to the main house and gardens are two historic guest houses that have also been completely restored and modernized, a manager’s house, horse barn, stables, and several additional storage barns. Away from the campus is a large pole barn, tractor shed, and grain bins. There is zero deferred maintenance and no expense has been spared in this restoration and rejuvenation of Twickenham Plantation.