About This 1742 Daniel Nichols Homestead In Reading Massachusetts
One could never duplicate the beauty and craftsmanship that can only be found in a rare offering such as this!
Featured on the Reading House Tour and in a national home magazine, The Daniel Nichols Homestead has only been made better with each passing year. You can feel the history with every turn and will adore the flawless blend of old and new.
From the 6 incredible fireplaces – two with ovens – and original wide pine floors, to the beamed ceilings and two staircases, the purist will be in awe. The kitchen is warm and inviting with captivating views of a colossal Palladian window and comfortable sitting area in front of the fire. Just on the other side awaits a stunning dining room with its own fireplace and an amazing walk-in pantry.
The living room and family room each offer a distinct personality…one is grand and elegant, while the other is comfortable and says stay a while!
The bedrooms should be featured in the best B&B…gorgeous! With 3 baths, 2nd fl laundry, new central air, detached 2 car garage with smashing guest house over. and magical gardens that have just welcomed spring this lovely home awaits its next proud owners.
Note the square footage, bedroom and bath count do not include the 600 sq ft guest house which has a full kitchen, living area, separate bedroom and full bath.
From the wikipedia entry:
“The Daniel Nichols Homestead is a historic home at 434 Haverhill Street in Reading, Massachusetts. The oldest portion of this timber-frame house was built in the early 1740, with vernacular Georgian styling. The house is five bays wide and two deep, with a rear shed-roof extension giving the house a saltbox appearance. An ell was added in the mid-19th century. The main architectural detail is the front door surround, which features sidelight windows and recessed, paneled pilasters supporting a tall entablature.
The house was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984”
From the book “At Wood End: Reading Massachusetts 1644-1994 A Pictorial History”
“The Daniel Nichols House reflects the common type built during the last half of the 18th century and in many cases into the 19th century. The form is rectangular, five bays and one or two bays deep, with the emphasis on the door surround. The ell was added in 1849. In the 1980’s it was renovated. The roof line took on the appearance of a saltbox style rather than a Federal with an ell.
The dwelling was built by Daniel Nichols shortly after he purchased the land from the town of Reading in 1742. He was active in church and town affairs, as was his son-in-law, Amos Pearson, who was next to live here. In the late 18th century, the house was divided into a two-family dwelling. In the 1930’s it was the home and business location of the florist Carl Anderson. The remains of the tall smoke stack are still visible to the rear of the property.”