About This 1780 Historic Wayside Inn In Ellicott City Maryland
Historic Wayside Inn c.1780
Built during the American Revolution, this extraordinary historic stone manor home has been beautifully restored & renovated, featuring 7 bedrooms, 7 bathrooms, 2 powder rooms, 10 fireplaces with original mantels, 4 full levels of living space, a spacious modern addition and much more. Steeped in the wonderful history of early America, there is a joy to the Wayside Inn that lives in its 20″ stone walls and echoes through the rooms with the resonating sound from heart pine wood floors. The deep window sills and hand modeled wood trim, the grand center hall and wide staircase, all strike a delicate balance with an expansive modern addition, allowing the fortunate steward to tread gently through 3 centuries of American history without leaving home. This is a unique manor of historic architectural significance, thoughtfully updated for comfort in the 21st century. With 6 generous bedroom suites, 2 kitchens, nearly 2 acres with a pond and a superb location, this is a gracious historic estate of exceptional quality. Though the home was built in 18th century, the heating, air conditioning and core utilities are all modern. This property’s R-20 zoning includes a special exception for a B&B/inn, and the historic property designation offers unique small business opportunities (law office, architect, etc…).
Light and airy, warm and welcoming, the Wayside Inn in historic Ellicott City is a home of rare and beautiful distinction, close to Baltimore & DC, yet a world away.
Historical Significance of 1780 Historic Wayside Inn In Ellicott City Maryland
The Wayside Inn is historically significant for two reasons. First, it is a particularly fine example of a well preserved, continuously lived in Maryland Farm House whose architectural design is deeply rooted in the Pennsylvania Quaker/German Building tradition. Second, The Wayside Inn is closely associated with a major shift in agriculture in the piedmont region, from the tobacco crop which nurtured the pre-revolutionary economy, to the wheat crop which guaranteed continued growth, when tobacco declined.
In 1772 three Quaker Brothers, John, Joseph and Andrew Ellicott, emigrated to the piedmont region of Maryland from Bucks County, Pennsylvania. They came in search of a place to establish a mill, and selected a site on the Potapsco River. Initially named Ellicott Mills, this area grew and prospered into the town now known as Ellicott City.
Within a few years of their arrival, The Ellicotts had built a large wooden boarding house to house their workers, a saw mill, and using the abundant granite quarried locally in the area now known as Oella, a school and a court house.
The building material of choice for the majority of homes built in the Ellicott City region was the same readily available granite used for the early public buildings. Drawing on their Pennsylvania Quaker roots, the homes constructed closely resemble those found in Lancaster and Bucks County Pennsylvania. The Wayside Inn is indicative of this influence. It is both refined and yet plain. The scale, proportion and symmetry reflected in the design are appropriate to early federal period homes throughout the colonies, yet the choice of dressed stone, and lack of exterior ornamentation for cornices, doorways, etc. reflects the Quaker and also Moravian taste for restraint in ornamentation. The interior likewise is an exercise in minimal detail, the simplest of mantels and plain door and window trim all bespeak a religious belief which shunned superfluous ornament. In contrast to this restraint of detail is the unique Quaker willingness to accept wealth; as reflected in the overall scale of buildings. This is clearly demonstrated in the sheer size of the Wayside Inn. This was not the home of a subsistence tenant farmer. Rather, it was the home, and headquarters for a fairly well to do small scale plantation owner.
Unique architectural features of the Wayside Inn include modified gable roof similar, yet less angular than the New England Saltbox, interior chimneys, and a center hall plan with a very wide enclosed staircase placed at the rear entry.
Architectural Significance of 1780 Historic Wayside Inn In Ellicott City Maryland
The Wayside Inn is located on Columbia Road, parallel to the Old Columbia Pike (US Route 29), South of the intersection of St. John’s Lane and Route 29. It is a two room wide, by two room deep, three story central hall stone house with modified gabled roof, and two interior brick chimneys located toward the North and South sides of the roof line. The architectural style of the house is Late Georgian or Early Federal.
The windows are symmetrically arranged on the East (front), North and South sides, and are asymmetrical on the West (rear) side. The windows are proportionately scaled, rectangular shaped, and are double hung consisting of six-over-six lites on the first and second floors, and three-over-three lites on the third floor.
The East (front) entrance has a gable roofed pediment supported by two round wooden columns with a simple wooden fence to the right and left. The portico is likely a later addition to the front entrance way, possibly a circa 1920’s •colonial• addition. The front entrance way has a double door of panel construction with mortise and tenon joinery and applique panel molding, indicating late 19th century construction. A five lite transom and six lite vertical side panels appear above and beside these double doors respectively….
Overall exterior construction is coursed ashlar of locally quarried stone, similar in texture and bond to other stone structures within the immediate Ellicott City environs. The walls are 20″ thick. Window lintels and sills are single rectangular stones. Exterior trim is a plain wood strip, at the cornice and ends.