About This 1897 Victorian In Summerville South Carolina
Historical records tell a colorful story of this stunning Victorian. Several published stories say that William Richardson, an early mayor of Summerville, built this stunning victorian in 1897 without consulting his wife, Euretta, and daughters. Once completed the home was presented to his family as a gift. The Richardson’s had 3 children – a son who died at the age of 20 and two daughters, Daisy & Anna. Daisy was instrumental in establishing the Timrod Library on Central Avenue. The Richardson’s lived in this home until 1908. Over the next 19 years several families occupied the residence. In 1927 Sue, the daughter of Edward & Eloise Hutchinson was married to Sherwood Miler in this home which started a wedding tradition at 524 W Carolina. Full Guest Cottage on Property. Large Corner Lot.
Videau & Francis Kirk owner the home from 1946 – 1964. Mr. & Mrs. Kirk were third cousins, decendents from the son of Francis Marion (Swamp Fox). The home suffered a devastating fire in 1969, which was believed to have started by some renovation materials following a reception at the property. It destroyed 4 rear rooms and the back of the structure. The home stood in this condition until 1972 when Hubert & Virginia McNaughton purchased the property. The McNaughtons rebuilt the the kitchen, added a laundry room, removed the old plaster and created a first floor bedroom & bath. The Jones purchased the house in 1998 and began renovations that earned them an award from the Preservation Society of Summerville in 2000.